It came to my mind, why is CNN sending me their daily top 10. I never registered to receive any list. I would rather go to their site to view the list than receive the daily top 10 list as an email. Mxlab blog reported about this. I have gotten this list more than three times and they were in my gmail spam (Thanks Google for putting it in my spam box). This is a picture of the email.

The link above is the URL when the mouse pointer is placed on any number. This is the first clue that the email is a hoax. The second clue is that the sender email is

Agee-tneiacno@euroopen.it

Why would CNN use that email address. CNN should use ……..@cnn.com. Mxlab blog reports that if you click on the link. It would take you to a video site. Then a pop up will come up and tell you to download the correct video codec, an executable called get_flash_update.exe, but this is in fact the Trojan-Downloader.Agent.EL. This trojan can download and installs other malware onto infected machine.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

Don't want to miss anything?  Subscribe to RSS or get  Email alerts

315 views

Related Post

RSS feed | Trackback URI

2 Comments »

Comment by BioTecK
2008-08-07 12:14:42

Hmm.. I would never click on such e-mails.
The thing with those e-mails is that people click on them without knowing what they’re doing! :s

 
Comment by axioblogger
2008-08-08 12:55:57

BioTeck, I almost clicked the links in the email, but I did not since I did not subscribe to get CNN mails.

 
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Subscribe to comments via email
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.

Trackback responses to this post

// // // //